Main menu

전체 메뉴 여닫기


What is KOLAS?

KOLAS stands for Korea Laboratory Accreditation Scheme and it operates an accreditation system for testing laboratories and inspection bodies in Korea. The organization applies certification system approved by international standards to overcome technical barriers to trade (TBT) in developed countries.

What KOLAS Certification?

  • KOLAS and qualified evaluation agencies which enforce international standards and legal requirements assess the quality management system and technical competency of testing and inspection laboratories based on the general requirements of ISO/IEC 17025, and officially approve their competencies in acting as testing and inspection laboratories for specific fields.

MRA (Mutual Recognition Arrangement)

  • Currently, KOLAS is in official agreement with APLAC1) and ILAC2,) to mutually recognize the official accreditation certificate of 26 testing laboratories over 24 countries that are registered under APLAC and 71 testing laboratories over 58 countries registered under ILAC.
    • APLAC(Asia-Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation)
    • ILAC(International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation)

What are KOLAS accredited international testing laboratories?

  • These testing laboratories refer to those that are accredited by KOLAS for their quality management system and testing competencies based on the Framework Act on National Standards and KS Q ISO/IEC 17025:2006(ISO/IEC 17025).
  • Since the acquisition of KOLAS certification in 2003, Korea Marine Equipment Research Institute has acquired and is currently testing 607 standards over 17 mid-category fields.